I used my first ever bit of C++11 today. Adding support for different collision types meant storing a shape pointer on the physics body, so naturally I disabled copying of physics objects because there’s no need for it and I didn’t want to have a reference counted pointer. But then I couldn’t store them in a list anymore because the only way to get an object into a list is to copy it. C++11 has emplace_back, which allows an object to be constructed in place on the back of a list. I was so impressed at this fix to an awkward part of the language I decided to install Visual Studio 2012 to get the rest of it. I’ll try to use it for convenience and simplicity and not go crazy with advanced features.

The outcome of that is that I can place doors, which have box-shaped collisions. Unfortunately they get pushed down the corridors. They aren’t fixed in place yet.

