There’s very little to choose between Allegro and SDL. They have similar features and interfaces. I can’t remember why I chose SDL to begin with. Anyway, after a bit of research I decided to try Allegro to try to solve some rendering problems.

It only took a day to make the switch. I already used SDL mostly through a wrapper so I only had to make new versions of a few cpp files. Operation was in most cases virtually identical.

But they aren’t quite the same. SDL (at least the latest version that isn’t stuck in development hell) uses a software renderer. Allegro uses hardware rendering. Some basic features that are standard in hardware rendering are missing from the SDL renderer. If you want to use them, you have to go through OpenGL. Allegro provides access to these through a simple interface.

So that was my choice. Change all the rendering to OpenGL, or switch libraries to Allegro and stay with a 2D API.

On the non-technical side, Allegro seems to have more active development and more helpful forums. So maybe there is something to choose between them after all.

