After working on refactoring for  a few days I wanted something exciting. So I thought I would try to make explosions. I wanted something better than a sprite, because after all, I can’t draw, and also the idea of shockwaves bouncing off walls and travelling down corridors was appealing.

I had a look online and found plenty of demos, mostly showing smoke inside a box or something equally useless running on a GPU. There are tutorials, and they all start with lots of maths and are obsessed with stability, with no intuitive explanations. And they all want to simulate incompressible flow because compression makes the maths even harder. I don’t care about physical accuracy! I just want fireballs!

So I started to think about how you might simulate something like that. I decided that the system is essentially a huge number of particles, far too many to simulate individually, but it could be managed by averaging the properties of particles inside fixed regions or cells. Evolving the system is then a matter of determining how the average propertics in a cell would change. The simplest particles have two properties: mass and momentum. So the important properties of a cell are the total mass (or equivalently, the density) and the total momentum. To give at least some physical basis, these should be conserved throughout the system. Mass and momentum can flow between a cell and its neighbours. Make sure the flow is always plausible and it has to be stable (if it blew up, I knew I had a bug – a sign error usually).

The details call for another post, but for now, a picture.

explode

