As the next (maybe last) step in developing the physics engine, I wanted to add rotation to the objects. It should have been pretty easy, but ended up as a big overhaul in which I changed almost everything.

So what’s needed for rotation, on top of what I already had?

  • The rigid bodies get some extra state variables for angular velocity and rotation.
  • The integration has to update these variables.
  • Contacts need positions in order to work out the torque.
  • The solver matrix needs to include moment-of-inertia factors.

Not actually that much. The biggest task was adding rotation and position calculations to the collision functions. But then when I put it all in, the stability had gone straight to hell.

It actually wasn’t too bad for circles, or even circles with boxes. It was boxes against boxes that really had problems. I realised then that a single contact can’t keep a box stable, if it’s allowed to rotate. I changed it to two contacts along the contact edges. Much better, but still jittery.

The trouble with box collisions is that even tiny changes from frame to frame can dramatically alter the set of contacts. This reduces the effectiveness of contact caching, and that affects the convergence of the solver, and that means more jitter. A tidy stack is not too bad, but a big pile never quite settles.

I never solved this perfectly, but I did get it good enough with various techniques:

  • The collision functions have to be spot on. There’s no room for error.
  • Solving separately for positions and velocities prevents the intersection penalty feeding back into the next frame.
  • I treat low speed collisions as perfectly inelastic.
  • I don’t wake up objects for inelastic collisions. Instead I leave them asleep with infinite mass. This stops a jittery object waking up the whole stack.

I think there are still improvements to be had, but I have to stop somewhere. Maybe that’s it unless I get some new ideas.Rotating boxes

 

 

 

 

