Since I’ve been doing a lot a physics development and hacking the game to put in test cases, I thought I would write a little physics game. This would also provide a way to test and sanity check the whole framework.

(Oh, it failed the sanity check. But that’s all part of the process).

Pong is a very simple game, and it doesn’t need all the systems I put in place for the main game. But I wanted to use them anyway. In particular, I wanted to do Pong with real physics, simulating the bats and ball rather than following a minimal set of rules.

First problem: the bats shouldn’t move when the ball hits them. For this I had to add constraints, which didn’t exist in the physics engine before. However, I had contacts, and joints are mathematically similar. So I made two joints per bat, which could slide on the vertical axis but were fixed on the horizontal. Two, because the bats also should not rotate.

This has the side effect that hitting the top or bottom of a bat will move it, but I like that. I could have given the bats infinite mass, but I wanted them to be simulated.

There’s a little more to the game than the physics, but not much. I have three actor types:

  • Pong game
  • Bat
  • Ball

The Pong game actor creates the other actors, starts the game, and keeps score. The bat actor responds to input and moves the bat up and down. The ball actor waits for collisions and reports a score to the game.

Then there’s a bit of code to render the physics objects and the score, and that’s it. The game is entirely event driven because the physics runs in the background.

Next: take what I learned from Pong and apply it to the main game.pong

 

